//
you're reading...
Illinois Medical Marijuana, Illinois Politics

Illinois Legislature: Illinois State Police Reverse Opposition to Medical Marijuana Legislation, Say Senator Bill Haine and Rep. Lou Lang


House Deputy Majority Leader Lou Lang

(Springfield, IL) – May 6, 2010.  State Senator William Haine (D-Alton) and House Deputy Majority Leader Lou Lang (D-Skokie) yesterday announced a huge step forward toward the approval of medical marijuana use in Illinois.

The Illinois State Police is no longer opposed to the legislation.

Woe.

This is a big deal.

After meeting with Lang and Haine, Captain Timothy Becker of the Illinois State Police informed the lawmakers that the Illinois Department of State Police had changed its position on Senate Bill 1381 from opposition to neutral.

“I am extremely pleased by Illinois State Police’s decision, because it improves the probability of the bill’s approval,” said Lang.  “This legislation is intended to alleviate pain in people suffering debilitating medical conditions and the Illinois State Police recognize that,” he said.

Haine said he believed the Department changed its position after carefully reviewing the legislation and recognizing the safeguards will protect patients, caregivers and the public.

“As a former State’s Attorney, I have the greatest respect for the police organizations of our State and local governments.  This change of position demonstrates what we have known all along, and that is that our State police organization is focused first and foremost on criminal activities as it relates to illegal substances,” Haine said.

After the State Police announcement, a “no” vote in the House has now switched to a “yes”, according to a legislative source.

Progress.

About David Ormsby

David, a public relations consultant and Huffington Post blogger, is an ex-Press Secretary of the Illinois Democratic Party.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Illinois Legislature: Illinois State Police Reverse Opposition to Medical Marijuana Legislation, Say Senator Bill Haine and Rep. Lou Lang

  1. This is good news now if this passes the state police can start putting their resources to better use and start arresting criminals not sick people.

    Posted by Russell Marcellis | May 7, 2010, 7:55 AM
  2. Legalize Medical Marijuana for Illinois please. Thanks

    Posted by Mike | May 7, 2010, 11:29 AM
  3. What can we do?
    How do we help?

    Blessed be,
    Kathy

    Posted by Kathy Cummings | May 7, 2010, 11:35 AM
  4. quit attacking ILL citizens who are not criminals and allow them to use cannabis for medical purposes. the drug war is a war on americans and is an expensive wasted effort. It has made americans hate cops and drug task forces. no respect for law enforcement anymore. legalize cannabis like 14 other states have done

    Posted by jack eich | May 7, 2010, 11:55 AM
  5. I’m caught in the criminal aspect of it and would not wish this experience and financial crises on anyone one who uses the medical part of it responsibly.I’m also still a patient /criminal -I’m also a good parent to my 3 young boys,husband to my wife, who will be the only victims when all is done.(even if passed the bill won’t help me, but it may help the next victim-s)

    I wish God speed for this bill SB 1381,so others will not have to suffer more than we already are.

    Posted by mike zellweger | May 10, 2010, 8:49 AM
  6. please vote to legalize medical marijuana. people who live with chronic pain need alternatives to opiates and pain pills, they ruin many lives and families. many others who suffer from crone’s disease, glocoma, nerve damage, and the effects of chemotherapy will have it as an option without being forced to become criminals. thank you for the time and consideration you have put into this bill and implore you to pass it.

    Posted by r. scott small | May 10, 2010, 5:35 PM
  7. i am for the legalization of medical marijuana and even legalization for recreational use.. i am seriously considering moving to california to take advantage of the medical benefits and so my G/f can enjoy the Recreational benefits.. i hope to see this bill passed so patients can get some relief and not be deemed a “criminal”..

    Posted by Dan McD | May 10, 2010, 5:44 PM
  8. My name is Chris Wagnaar and on july 20, 2006 I was in a severe wreck and underwent a tramatic brain injury. I had to fight to relearn how to live. Now I face the depression it brought. Everytime I see a possible way I could kill myself i think about it. Even though my daughter was born Dec. 2, 2008 I hate these thoughts. I know for her i would never hurt myself, but that is mainly because I am so doped up on anti-depressants I talk to my shrink about every month It helps alot. Even though it is still illegal on occasion i still smoke. It helps in the way, I have whay I call demons on my back, that is where all my bad thoughts of killing myself come from smoking makes them fall off and i feel free of my depression. I think well regulated this would help people like me. If i got busted self medicating myself I would face severe punishment for something I need and my income would take a horrible blow with the fines it would also help because if i get it prescribed I can get it on my medical card that would save me a good $20/week. So please I ask you make a very controlled law for legal marijuana. you could even make pills out of it which would help the law control it

    Posted by Chris Wagnaar | May 11, 2010, 12:01 PM
  9. I agree with you on that wagnaar, but marijuana pills, and synthetic marijuana does not help users as well, so a pill is a no option. Thats just an excuse, they need to straight up stop the drug war all together and legalize it everywhere, but thats not going to happen fast enough.. Just get these damn patients their medical marijuana so they do not have to die from harmful prescription drugs amongst many many other things.. All people that are opposed to medical marijuana are pretty much saying they are killers, and are virtually killing people by not allowing them this wonderful plant that can be used for so many benefits…

    Posted by Tom S. | May 15, 2010, 9:36 AM
  10. I am a disabled veteran who has had three neck fusions and am plagued buy chronic pain every min of every day and helps to manage my pain, the studies and proof is out there please tell a friend write to your state representatives so we can end a bad waste of tax payer money putting good people behind bars.

    Thank you to all who write and call

    Posted by Jason | June 1, 2010, 8:40 PM

Leave a comment

Submit your email address and be among the first to receive our posts by e-mail as soon as they are published. It\'s free.

David Ormsby, Editor

RSS Gov. Pat Quinn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.